Lancashire Schools Symphony Orchestra

Our Schools Symphony Orchestra is one of Lancashire Music Service’s county ensembles, providing inspiring opportunities for young musicians across the county.

 

 

The Power of Music

The Lancashire Schools Symphony Orchestra acts as a preparatory ensemble for the Lancashire Youth Symphony Orchestra, providing young instrumentalists with their first experience of playing symphonic orchestral music. As a guide, the standard required for the LSSO is Grade 4 wind/brass and Grade 3 strings.

The LSSO shares the same rehearsal facilities and concert venues as the Lancashire Youth Symphony Orchestra. The morning session of each rehearsal is spent in sectionals. These sessions are directed by Lancashire Music Service staff along with a team of professional musicians drawn from leading orchestras in the UK. The afternoon is a full orchestra rehearsal.

Earlier this year Lancashire Music Hub, County Ensembles appointed a new conductor to the Lancashire Schools Symphony Orchestra (LSSO), Paul Swannell – read more about Paul here.

There are 16 rehearsals per academic year.

Forthcoming Events

Rehearsals start at 10am therefore please arrive in good time to be ready to play at 10am. 

 Spring Term 2018

Sunday 14 January           Rehearsal

Sunday 28 January           Rehearsal

Sunday 4 February           Rehearsal

Sunday 11 February         Strings Workshop Day (String players only)

Sunday 25 February         Rehearsal

Sunday 4 March                Rehearsal (Additional rehearsal)

Sunday 18 March            JOINT CONCERT LYSO and LSSO VENUE TBC

 

Summer Term 2018

Sunday 15 April                Rehearsal – Open Rehearsal

Sunday 29 April                Rehearsal – Auditions for new players/LSSO to LYSO

 

Saturday 16 June         Pendle Vale Concert TBC

Sunday 24 June                Rehearsal

Sunday 1 July                   Rehearsal

Sunday 8 July               Joint Concert with all County Ensembles, Guild Hall

Saturday July 14th          LYSO and LSSO JOINT CHORAL CONCERT WITH UCLAN CHAMBER CHOIR AND SCHOOL CHOIR

 

 

Date

Time

Location

Sundays 10am-3.30pm Lostock Hall Academy

Genres

  • Classical
  • Orchestral

Activities

  • Brass
  • Drums / Percussion
  • Strings
  • Woodwind
  • Ensembles

Age Ranges

  • Key Stage 3: age 11-14
  • Key Stage 4: age 14-16
  • Key Stage 5: age 16-18