Lancashire Youth Symphony Orchestra

Our youth symphony orchestra (LYSO) is one of Lancashire Music Service’s county ensembles, providing inspiring opportunities for young musicians across Lancashire

Watch our online performance – LYSO and LSSO Night on a Bare Mountain – Orchestras in Lockdown:

New players very welcome (grade 5 standard and above, strings grade 4)

We also run the Lancashire Schools Symphony Orchestra for players who are beginning their musical journey working at Grade 2 and above.

We’re particularly keen to recruit young people playing strings, double reed instruments, lower brass and french horn.

The orchestra offers you the opportunity to work with inspiring leaders and professional musicians, alongside like-minded young people from across Lancashire.

 

 

The Orchestra meet at St Michael’s High School, Chorley, on Sunday, 10.00am – 3.30pm

Sunday 23rd January

Sunday 6th February

Sunday 27th February

Sunday 13th March

Sunday 20th March

 

Sunday 24th April

Sunday 26th June

Sunday 10th July

Sunday 17th July

SATURDAY 23rd July

Monday 25th July – Friday 29th July            JOINT TOUR WITH LYCB

 

 

Date

Time

Location

Sundays 10am-3.30pm St Michael’s High School

Genres

Activities

Age Ranges

  • Classical
  • Orchestral
  • Brass
  • Drums / Percussion
  • Strings
  • Woodwind
  • Ensembles
  • Key Stage 3: age 11-14
  • Key Stage 4: age 14-16
  • Key Stage 5: age 16-18